top of page

400m, 800m, 1600m Oh My!

You’re feeling good today. Left foot, right foot, left foot. Stay on your toes. Keep good form. One kilometer in and feeling strong. You quicken your pace. Right foot, left foot, right foot. 2.5 kilometers in and you’ve developed a cramp in your right abdomen. Breathe into it. Left foot, right foot, left foot. Your pace slows. Now 3.5 kilometers in. You’re Achilles tendon starts to flare up. 4.0 kilometers in. Your pace continues to slow. You’re yelling at yourself “Come on, run faster. Move It! You’ve got this!” 4.5 kilometers in and racers are coming up on your heels. You turn on the afterburners, opening up your stride, staying on your toes, you start to open the gap back up. “Only 0.25 kilometers left. I can see the finish line! They’re cheering for me! I CAN do this!” Stumbling across the finish line as you nearly collapse onto the asphalt. “Did I do it? Did I just PR?”

The middle of the scenario just described has been my motivation in all races. I try to keep in mind that I am running MY race, not anyone else’s race. I run against myself, not anyone else. I am my only competition. However, the thought of others catching up to me and passing me is like putting vinegar on a wound. This is what I have in my mind at all times, even when all I can think about is collapsing part way through a race. I first tell myself “I will be one of the first to break from the pack” shortly after, I tell myself “I can’t let anyone pass me… I won’t let anyone pass me.”

What mindset do you have and things do you say to yourself when racing or training? (feel free to comment on this post)

The feeling described in the first paragraph has come to many in the racing world. Yes, even those who aren’t competitive and still like running road, trail, obstacle course races, and all other styles confront these feelings. It is a natural feeling to want to hit a personal record, win races, and compete with others. However, some are prepared for this challenge- while others aren’t. Part of the population goes on leisurely runs to prepare, while others go for moderate runs which involve running at the same pace for the entire training session. And then there are those who keep things interesting and mix up their training sessions; they alter the FITT principles (frequency, intensity, type, time).

Frequency: How often they run/exercise per week

Intensity: What distance or speed are they running

Type: What style of run are they going on

Time: How long are they running for

* This principle can also be applied to strength training (and any other form of exercise)

Three out of four of the FITT principles are easy to alter and determine, however the fourth is a bit more challenging for some: type. What type or style of run? There are many kinds of running styles that can benefit your performance above and beyond running at a constant pace throughout the duration of a run. Here are just a few:

  1. Long, Slow: Pick a slower than race pace and run for a distance that is beyond your normal distance or race.

  2. Interval: Also called Indian runs with group training. Pick a ‘comfortable’ distance that you can carry a full sprint without slowing down. Walk or slow jog for recovery (the same distance as the sprint). Repeat.

  3. Fartlek: Vary your running pace between about 75% and 40% (of your maximum effort) every 5 minutes.

  4. 400m Repeats: Harder runs with jogging for recovery

  5. 800m Repeats: Hard runs with jogging for recovery

  6. Mile Repeats: Hard run with jogging for recovery

*Alter these styles to fit your personal fitness level (whether it is your pace, distance, recovery time)

By mixing up your running styles, you are able to tax your bodies various energy systems. Personally, I have a love/hate relationship with them all. The longer, slower runs are quite comfortable for my breathing; however they take a huge toll on my psyche because of the duration of the run. The shorter sprints are painful for both my legs and breathing, yet are enjoyable because the session doesn’t last too long. I dabble in them all because they all enhance the body’s ability to perform at a higher level. I also know the importance of holding a steady, quick pace throughout the duration of a race, all while having an energy reserve for the final sprint across the finish.

bottom of page