top of page

The Thrill (& Stress) of The Hunt

It seems to be that time of year. I'm seeing a lot of my friends posting on social media that they're brushing up their resumes as they begin their new job search. My friends who work in the theater industry are looking for new opportunities as their summer contracts are coming to a close. Even I am on the hunt for a new job and a new internship as we make our move to Cincinnati for my grad. school program.

There's something really exciting about being on the hunt for a new job, right? The possibilities are endless! I may be going back to odd jobs of being a personal chef or a dog walker or a freelance writer- or, I may be a traveling theatre mentor for educators, or write a series of children's books, or work for a museum! I can be whatever I want to be- so long as I find a good job opening for that position online, or can make it happen for myself.

But it's also painstakingly nerve-wracking too. I currently have no income, and don't know when my next pay check is coming- that's terrifying. I don't know if I'll have the luxury of taking a job I like, or if I'll be stuck doing something I hate for a while. Really, I hate being uncertain about what my future holds so I just want the search to be over already!

I know you all know how I'm feeling- if you're not currently stuck in the lurch, you have been before and you know that it is indeed stressful! What's worse is that there's not really a whole lot you can do in the interim other than what you're already doing: shoot out a few applications a day, write the best cover letters ever, and hope they like you enough to respond. We're a little stranded in limbo as we wait to learn where we'll be going next.

This post was titled, "The Thrill (& Stress) of the Hunt" for a reason: we need to be focusing on that thrill if we're going to make it through the job hunt with optimism, perseverance, and exuberance for our new prospective opportunities! No one wants to hire someone who seems desperate or settling; be the person they want to hire, because each job you apply to is just as exciting as the last! Pump yourself up in taking pride in your wealth of experiences! Stay positive, because we're all going to get through the job hunt.

Here are a few more tips on job hunting that I've been reminding myself of as I've fretted over my hunt:

- Don't use "boiler plates:" meaning, you can't just copy and paste messages to different employers in your cover letter. Personalize each letter to the employer; highlight skills and talents that they will appreciate; and find commonalities you may connect over.

- Research your employer before you apply. I know you're stressed and applying to as much as you can as fast as you can, but if you take the time to get to know your potential employer, they'll take the time to get to know you- and you'll be a lot more memorable down the line because of it.

- Respond as promptly as possible. Like, within minutes if you can. If they ask when you can interview in person, try to do it the following day if you can. Make it as easy as possible for them to hand you the job.

- Be honest, but don't talk smack. Meaning, when they ask you why you left your last job or why you worked there for such a short duration, be honest- but if your reason is "because they were meanie dumb dumbs," maybe revise your language to more professional terms (such as, "we had conflicting personalities").

- If you hate the job, don't apply. Sounds instinctive, right? Unless you are in dire financial straits or have a family to support, you should not be applying to or taking a job you can't stand. Find a way to budget your current savings and take a job you like; or, at the least, one you can stand until a better fit presents itself.

bottom of page