top of page

Single-Tasking

This morning I hopped on Pinterest and checked my "daily roundup;" the things selected for me based on my search preferences. Typically, these things are fairly predictable and I can scroll through the pins with minimal mental effort, knowing I'll encounter titles including hygge, minimalism, writing prompts, and inspirational quotes. But today I saw something different: "13 Reminders for Single Tasking." It struck me as a bit odd, since I'm more of the type to read about efficiency and streamlined productivity, but after reading the list I realized how grateful I was that it popped up.

Sometimes we get so wrapped up in getting things done and staying productive that we forget when we ought to be taking things slow- enter Carmen, who was working on grad school assignments while eating breakfast and preparing for a run (all while on vacation). So I decided to read up on what we should maintain as a single-task and not include in a multi-tasking endeavor. Here are some of the basics I think are most important to involve in our daily routines:

1. Eat Meals Without Checking Your Phone. I think it's important to leave the phone in the other room for every meal that you partake in with other people, but especially breakfast. Don't start your day with your eyes glued to a screen- it's especially bad for your eyes, but draining on your mental capacities and alienating to those around you. Socialize, plan your day, set your goals or to-do lists; but stay off the phone.

2. In Conversation, Listen; Don't Plan What to Say. This was something I learned while in college acting, but it's something that I believe everyone ought to learn for everyday interaction. Too often when we have conversations, we listen superficially to what people tell us in order to get the gist while we simultaneously think up what we are going to say in reply. Listen, REALLY, listen to what someone says, how they say it, their body language, and their tone. Your response will come naturally, and you'll have a whole lot more to go off of.

3. Have a Morning and Nightly Ritual. Having a set course of things to do in both the morning and night help you wake up/fall asleep with more ease and cut down on stress. In the morning, I wake up to my dog pawing at me. I'll stretch, put on my slippers, and go to the bathroom. After brushing my teeth, I take Moo Moo outside and start her, and my, breakfast.

Wanna EEEEEAT?

In the evening, I read or watch TV with Eric. I then go to the bathroom, wash my face and brush my teeth, fetch Moo Moo and carry her to bed, then crawl under the sheets. There, I'll read affirmations with Eric and perhaps listen briefly to an audiobook while I play a mindless game, then turn off the light and go to bed. I could elaborate more on both of my rituals, but I take comfort in the fact that I know I have some sort of set plan in place- and it really does help!

4. Stop Opening New Tabs. When working or playing on the internet, some of us get into the habit of opening up new tabs while keeping old ones open. Sometimes we need to do this, as Eric and I needed to when considering foreclosures on Zillow; but sometimes we really don't, as in the case of checking emails and article proposals and the blog all at the same time. If you have five or more tabs open, you're doing too much. Try to isolate yourself to only one open internet window; I'm doing that now and it's such a relief to only focus on what I'm writing, not my never-ending to do list.

5. Don't Multi-Task: Combine Tasks. Essentially, kill two birds with one stone. I did this one recently when I visited Greensboro for a day. I couldn't go to the gym, so I instead went for a 4-mile walk in the park, which checked off my need to have time outdoors, get daily exercise, and read daily (as I listened to an audio book). When I got home, Eric asked how my day off was- with a shrug and a sweaty brow, I answered that it was my most productive day that week!

I love the old adage, "work smarter, not harder," because it doesn't take a whole lot of brainpower to work smarter! With just a bit of planning, you can do all that you need to in half the time- leaving you more time for fun!

bottom of page