top of page

Post-Partum Fitness

This isn't just a post for the ladies- it takes a village to build a healthy, happy family.

Congratulations to the many lady-friends of mine who have just recently had kids, and to those just finding out they have a bundle of joy on the way! This is such an anxiety-ridden but exhilarating and joyful time for you all and I am so happy to be a part of it (even if it's just a peripheral supporter in the distance).

I am not a mom- but I plan to be someday. When my mom asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up, I listed many jobs (including astronaut, actress, and Britney Spears herself) but always said, "... and, of course, a mom." This is one thing I know I was born to do, just like I know many of you feel in your bones. I've spent years nannying and camp counseling and watching kids to prepare myself for the wonderful times ahead.

One of my friends just had her son about seven months ago. I've watched a few babies around this age, so I've constantly been weighing in when she has questions. One of her latest laments was that she hates that she hasn't lost her baby weight. "I've tried to workout and I've tried to keep myself on a schedule, but I just can't. I'm exhausted and worn out and by the time I could go to the gym, I'd rather be hanging with friends I haven't had the time for, or focusing on being a wife instead of just a mom." Then, when she does get to the gym, she feels her workouts just aren't doing enough to make progress. "It all feels so hopeless... maybe this is just how my body is now."

I empathize with you, ladies, and you're absolutely right: it's not easy. But it is not impossible, and you don't have to resign yourself to looking any particular way. Your body is going to struggle to get back into shape after pregnancy- that is science. But with the right program and particular planning, you can get back into the shape you prefer.

*Note that you are beautiful in every way (you're a radiant new mother!), but you should be happy with your fitness and health. That is what we're here to focus on: not your looks, but your fitness.

You plan your baby's schedule like clockwork- time to plan yours. Definitely consult your doctor, a trainer, or a wellness coach if you are dead set on getting fit fast (Eric can certainly help!), but here are some quick steps you can take at home to get you moving on the right track.

1. Get Fit Time. You can workout at home, which is what most new moms would prefer to do. However, remember that you need time to be a woman outside of your child, too. Having a trusted friend, the hubby, or a nanny watch your baby while they sleep for an hour or two won't hurt them, and it'd be good for you to get some time to just be YOU. I suggest (from my nannying experience with new moms) that it's a good idea to start venturing off more regularly during nap times when the baby is around 6-7 months old (but check with your doc so you know YOU are good to work out). Their schedule should pretty set at this point, and they really need to start socializing with more people anyways. Lay them down for their nap, enter the nanny, and you hit the gym. By the time you're home and getting out of the shower, baby will be waking up for some play time. Perfect.

2. Spend That Time Wisely and Efficiently. So you've got an hour- two hours max- to get to the gym and back again. You've got to spend your time wisely if you're going to make lasting changes. You need to figure out what is going to burn the most fat for you, how you can get into it quickly, and how you can work efficiently and safely through your goals. I recommend doing some cardio training that will kick your butt, like high intensity interval training (HIIT). This kind of training will burn fat like no other. However, this doesn't mean you're on a treadmill the whole time; on the contrary, start your workout with some running/cycling/spinning/whatever, in which you vary how fast you're running, the grade you're running at, etc. Then it's time to move on to some body-weight exercises and weighted exercises.

3. Let's Talk About Abs. Let's be real: that's what you're worried about, right? You got a bit of a flabbier belly after the baby, WHICH IS NORMAL! Your abs just stretched around the size of a watermelon. Really, you're not that flabby- you just need to re-tighten your abs. As you've probably noticed, all that belly-stretching has really weakened your core; so cut yourself some slack. Your abs served their purpose with the pregnancy; now they need to get back in shape for you. You want to reach the deepest ab muscles possible- the TVAs (transverse abdominis), which wrap all the way around your core. You tighten these, the rest will follow. Strong Pilates moves will really help you here.

4. Don't Forget the Rest of Your Body. I know you're probably most worried about simply losing fat and trimming your waist right now, but don't forget that you probably gained weight in other areas too. Are your arms still where you want them to be? What about your legs? And that booty? A lot of baby weight ends up in the booty! Remember to balance your workout schedule. Overkilling any one particular muscle group (including your abs) will not work in your favor- you'll just burn yourself out or maybe even hurt yourself, which is the last thing you need right now. There's someone who's counting on you to be able to play with them! You can't let them down!

I know it seems like you don't have time for anything right now other than the newest addition to your family- but you have to remember how important your health is, too: physically and mentally. If you allow your body to fall out of shape, your self-esteem will suffer; your attitude will suffer; and you'll be bringing negativity into your time with your baby. Keep time with them light, happy, joyous, and stressless.

bottom of page